Todds’ Personal Testimony

I was baptized young into the Mormon church. Over time, I started to lose desire towards religion. Whenever friends would ask me if I was religious, and what denomination I was attached to, I would always lie. I was never fond of being a Mormon, because it did not FEEL right (On a side note, my friend had told me flaws about the Mormon church). I always had a feeling that there was something up with the Book of Mormon. I did not think of it as bad, but I always wanted to learn how to read the King James Version of the bible instead.

As I drifted away, I started to lean more towards violent video games, Rap, Dubstep, and other worldly things. Keep in mind, I played video games my whole life, but I started to feel more attached to them as I got older. As I was about to graduate high school, I became very good at video games. Good enough to go pro, and be one of the top players in some first person shooter games for the Xbox.

Shortly after graduation, I started going to college. This is when my life started to take a turn. At this point, I was in a strong, committed relationship for two years. My friend from church came knocking at my door. My first reaction was, “Ugh, another person that walks with the lord.” I was tired of people coming to my door and asking me to go to their church. I did not want anything to do with any of it. I was satisfied with my life. I had an amazing girlfriend, almost a 4.0 GPA, and I was thinking about making a career out of playing games.

The night my friend came over, he showed me a video on how media and video games can alter your mind. For some reason, this hit me hard, but later my friend told me he had got on his knees and begged for the Holy Spirit. I thought God existed, but after watching those videos he presented to me, I was basically in shock. God was REAL. There was absolutely no doubt in my mind that he existed.

Over the next three years, I had tried going to prayer meetings, and going to church on the weekends. But for some odd reason, I still did not feel convinced to try and change my life over. I was still playing games, and becoming more attached. Towards the end of this period, I got the brand new game, “Halo 5.” I loved it. I enjoyed it so much, that I wanted to go pro in this game. I got a team together, and went head first into that goal. I played nearly 8 hours a day, minimum, while working close to 40 hours a week. I don’t remember how I found time for my girlfriend. While playing that game, I was able to get into the top 200 rankings in a few different playlists, my highest being 49th best player in the world in Free For All.

After a few months of play, and enjoying the time of my life, I started to feel like I was drifting away. Games started to sound less fun. I wanted to just sleep. I found that I was forcing myself to play for 2-4 hours. I was not sure why I was feeling the way I was. I decided to start playing other video games. These were fun, for a very short time. Again, they started to become tedious to play.

After about a few weeks of feeling this way, I was talking to my friend and he asked if I wanted to go to church. I chose to go, and as the week drew near, I started to get a craving to go. After attending church, my desire shot through the roof! I tried playing video games, but they felt disgusting to me. I started to get a strange feeling towards many of the worldly ways. Only days after going to church, I decided to give my life to the lord, and here I am, a month later and I am loving life so much more!

 

Leave a Reply

